Marriage License Requirements:
Birth Certificate, Photo Identification, Address, Phone Number,
$44.00 IN CASH, and if
divorced, you need a certified copy of the divorce decree. If either
party is a minor, see the topic Minors below.
Please review the topics below to make sure that you have all of the
information you will need to apply. Both parties are
required to make application in person. Present these materials to the
Marriage Clerk and after reviewing each item with the clerk, your license will be issued.
***EFFECTIVE NOVEMBER 15,
ALL marriage license applicants must present a birth certificate.
To expedite the
application process, please bring the completed
Marriage License Application with
you to the:
Trumbull County Probate Court, 161 High Street, Warren, Ohio 44481
Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
*Applications are also available at the Court.
**Do not mail, e-mail, fax or otherwise send applications to the Court.
***BOTH APPLICANTS MUST PERSONALLY APPEAR AT THE COURT TO MAKE THE
APPLICATION FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE TO BE ISSUED.
more detailed information, click on the topics below to jump to an
explanation of that topic.
May Perform the Marriage Ceremony?
is a solemn and exalted state, sanctified by the church, respected by
society, and licensed by the State. Marriage is basically a contract
between two parties.
However, there is a third party to all contracts of marriage - the State.
It is the State that by law provides conditions to and limitations of the
Probate Court is the sole agency, under the laws of the State of Ohio,
vested with the authority to issue marriage licenses.
fee for obtaining a marriage license is $44.00 payable in cash. This fee
is non-refundable. Of this fee, $17.00 is allocated to a fund
established by the State of Ohio to provide financial assistance to
shelters for victims of domestic violence.
of 18 years of age and females of 16 years who are not nearer of kin than
second cousins may apply for a marriage license. Application must be made
in person by both parties. Applicants must have their birth certificates
and driverís license
or other positive form of identification such as military or state
identification. All applicants must have their birth
of the applicants must supply to the Court their respective address, name,
age, place of birth, occupation, social security number, fatherís name,
motherís maiden name, if known, and the name of the person who is
expected to solemnize the marriage.
marriage license shall be granted when either of the applicants is under
the influence of intoxicating liquor or controlled substances or is
infected with syphilis in a form that is communicable or likely to become
minor must first obtain the consent of both his or her parents, surviving
parent, or parent or person awarded custody by a competent court. The
required consent must be given personally before Judge Fredericka or a deputy
clerk. If the male applicant is under 18 years of age or the female
applicant is under 16 years of age, they must also have the consent of the
under 18 years of age must furnish a written statement from a priest,
minister, rabbi or other qualified counselor from whom they have received
or both of the applicants must be a resident of Trumbull County for a
marriage license to be issued. Applicants from out of state may apply for
a marriage license in Trumbull County, provided the marriage ceremony is
performed in Trumbull County.
either party has been previously married, the application shall include
the names of the parties to any such marriage and of any minor children.
If divorced, a certified copy of the divorce decree must be submitted to
the Probate Court at the time of the application.
Test: No Longer Required
May Perform the Marriage Ceremony?
ordained or licensed minister of any religious society or congregation
within the state of Ohio licensed to perform marriages, a judge of a county court
in his county, an authorized judge of a municipal court, the mayor of a
municipal corporation in any county in which such municipal corporation
wholly or partly lies, the superintendent of the state school for the
deaf, or any religious society in conformity with the rules and
regulations of its church may perform the marriage ceremony.
Once the license is issued, it is only valid for a
sixty day calendar period. If a marriage license has expired,
re-application is necessary and a new license must be issued.
one spouse is assuming the name of the other spouse, it is very
important that they notify several agencies of this fact. These
would include the Social Security Administration and the Ohio Bureau of
Motor Vehicles. Without these changes, problems may arise
concerning the parties driver's license and their income tax for the
Internal Revenue Service. The spouse wishing to assume the name of
the other spouse should also contact any firm with which they have
credit accounts and/or bank issued credit cards.
applicants must check their license prior to leaving the Court in order to
ascertain that all of the information is correct and that no errors have